Juicy Olive

The quest for “the good life” should never be complete but it should definitely begin now.

Report Card August 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — juicyolive @ 3:28 pm

If there was a panel to assign grades to bloggers, that group of esteemed individuals would have given me an “F-minus.” When I started this blog, I had committed to posting to it twice a week – and up through late July I had honored that committment. Somehow recently, I’ve been derailed. And like the vacationer who can’t bring herself to diet in the real world after weeks of indulgence in paradise, getting back on this horse has been a mental hurdle for me.

The good news is, that while I’ve flunked this period of blogosphere 101, I’ve been getting good marks elsewhere:

  • Friends –  I’ve been doing a great job at finding balance in socializing with them (my favorite subject!) and finding time for myself.  Of course, within that balancing act, we had a fantastic weekend at the lake in Galena – too much food, too much wine, lots of sun, late-night Rumikub…what more could we ask for? Also, my friend Amy is going through a particularly rough patch with a recent breast cancer diagnosis (compounded by being 8 months pregnant!), and I’m proud for the support I’ve been able to offer her.
  • Family – I’ve actually been able to see my dear brother more frequently. I’m bowing to the medical school gods, who have finally released their death grip on his schedule to afford him at least a bit of spare time. My sister and I have been in touch a lot recently, and she’s even coming to visit today! We’re headed back to the Quad-Cities tonight for some QT with Mom, Dad and Granny.
  • Romance – I’ve made good decisions recently in the dating department. This has meant doing some spring cleaning to get rid of the dusty ol’ hangers-on, setting boundaries with those who are in the “just friends” department and opening the door to someone new. We’ll see what happens. As you know, it’s always an adventure with me.
  • Work – I’m busier at last! Enough said.

Sure, “excuses, excuses,” you’re probably thinking. And, you’re right. I’ve let the rest of life trump this journal for a while. But, I’m back and willing to work my way up the ladder again.

With this mea culpa complete, please allow me to get back to the Juicy Olive way…I’ve got a fabulous story to tell you! Check back in about an hour for the goods.

 

One Response to “Report Card”

  1. Ann Says:

    So glad you are back! Missed your juicyness!


Leave a Reply

